

## St. Charles Parish

St. Charles Parish
Courthouse
15045 Highway 18
P.O. Box 302
Hahnville, LA 70057
985-783-5000
www.stcharlesparish-la.gov

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 2018-0346, Version: 1

#### 2018-0346

Proclamation: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

## PROCLAMATION

- WHEREAS, it is appropriate that on January 21, 2019, we celebrate and offer special recognition to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. for his unselfish nonviolent dedication to the Civil Rights Movement; and,
- WHEREAS, we recognize that his fortitude and dedication to the Civil Rights Movement has carved a place for Dr. King in history for all races as a continual fight for freedom, equality, and justice; and,
- WHEREAS, Dr. King, born in Atlanta, ordained a Baptist Minister in 1954, received his doctorate from Boston University in 1955, received the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize and became a leader of U. S. Civil Rights, spoke from his heart on August 28, 1963 on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial when he gave his famous speech "I Have a Dream"; and,
- **WHEREAS,** Dr. King's words rang out across America and became deeply rooted in the American dream that we would follow the true meaning of the words of Abraham Lincoln, "We hold these truths to be self-evident; that all men are created equal", the true dream of Dr. King; and,
- WHEREAS, Dr. King was assassinated on the balcony of the Lorraine Hotel in Memphis, Tennessee on April 4, 1968 marking a passage of history and the understanding that Dr. King did not die in vain but whose leadership and dreams will live on through history with a yearly celebration throughout the United States as a day of remembrance.

SO, IN REMEMBRANCE OF THE CONTRIBUTION OF DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. AS A LEADER OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT, THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT DO HEREBY PROCLAIM

# JANUARY 21, 2019 AS MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DAY

IN ST. CHARLES PARISH

LARRY COCHRAN PARISH PRESIDENT WENDY BENEDETTO COUNCILWOMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A

PAUL J. HOGAN, PE COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B WILLIAM BILLY WOODRUFF COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

TERRELL D. WILSON COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT I

MARILYN B. BELLOCK COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT V

MARY K. CLULEE

TRACI A. FLETCHER

File #: 2018-0346, Version: 1

COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT II

DICK GIBBS COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT III MLK2019.pcl COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VI

JULIA FISHER-PERRIER COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VII